An X signifies being crossed out. From my life.

February 11, 2010 at 12:09 PM | Posted in I support this, Love, Dating & Relationships, Please don't be "that girl", Please don't be "that guy", Soapbox in the Raw | 3 Comments

We all have exes. Ex-boyfriends, ex-flings, ex-friends ex-acquintances. I can honestly say I have no regrets about past relationships, friendly, romantic, professional or otherwise. While I don’t believe in burning bridges I don’t believe in looking back either. I like to keep it moving in one fluid direction. I don’t think you should entirely eliminate your past from your present but there’s a reason why they are past. You have moved past them, and the situation that afforded their presence in your life. I do believe in second chances but I am slow to dole them out. Extremely slow. Especially if their exodus was on less than pleasant terms.

I had an ex try to rekindle a flame that was long extinguised. We went to lunch and he kept pressing me for information on my love life. I was slightly disgusted at his gall and laughed off his persistence. I’m no fool, I know this “friendly lunch” was going to take a turn for the worst if I entertained the bull. That’s none of your business sir and it will never be.  After lunch, we parted ways. He reached out. I rejected. I’m open to being civil, cordial, and even friendly with an ex, I am on good terms with all exes of mine, but romantic? Not at all. What for?


You live and you learn. You take what you learned and you grow and progress. You move on. I have learned a great deal about people and myself through every relationship I had. I think you can learn something from everybody. Anyone that enters your life is invaluable, whether they were a positive or negative force.

So as someone exits my life I close the door, it’s a screen door, but a door nonetheless.

Related: Why are you single? Uh cuz I’d rather eat raw cookie dough DUH!
Related: Best Advice:Don’t take him seriously…until you do
Related: Guys don’t do this
Related: Why didn’t he call me back? Because you’re a f*****g psycho that’s why
Related: 5 reasons why my father RUINED my dating life
Related: Have you ever thought maybe, just maaaaybe she’s just not that into you?

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] Related: 5 reasons why my father ruined my dating life Related: Why are you single? Uh, because I’d rather eat raw cookie dough. DUH! Related: An X signifies being crossed out. From my life […]

  2. screen doors keep the bugs out and let the fresh air in….


Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.