Best Advice: Don’t take him seriously…until you do.

January 12, 2010 at 6:34 PM | Posted in Boys! Boys! Boys!, Love, Dating & Relationships, Please don't be "that girl" | 12 Comments

Let me explain that. I was having a convo via text message with my good friend Nita. I was inviting her to an amazing hip hop event this week in the city. She’s feeling a little under the weather so I wasn’t sure if she would be up to it.

She wrote “…oooh I really want to see some bboys and they’d probably b there too.” I read the text too fast and thought she wrote ‘boys’ and not ‘B-Boys’ as she wrote. So to motivate her to health I texted back “boys boys boys”

She was confused and I wrote “haha I thought you meant boys cuz that’s what I wanna see! haha.”
Nita: Boys make my head hurt 😦
Dash: They’re fun to play with!
Nita:Meh i guess

The thing is boys ARE fun! They’re fun to hang out with, they’re fun to date, they’re fun to make fun of, they’re fun to torture. They’re pretty much fun in any situation. I love boys! The funny thing is I’ve never been boy-crazy. I was a tom-boy for a large part of my life and under the 6 inch stilettos and MAC eyeshadow I can still scrap with the best of them. I have sent many a male suitor into the fetal position at my playful punches. I think the biggest reason women say boys cause headaches is because they actually take them for more than the joke they are. Stop taking these clowns seriously! Period.

I’m not saying to go around calling and believing every guy is an idiot (although that would help) but my best advice to women is do not take a boy seriously until it becomes natural to do so. To elaborate, keep everything light. Don’t be so uptight. Things women get upset about usually rolls right off a guy’s back. We should learn to do the same. To achieve all the goals I noted in my “Don’t Be Psycho,” it is important to stop taking boys and yourself so damn seriously! Life is short. Boys are fun. Play with them. Now, being able to play AND take him seriously, is what separates the men from the boys. So until then…as Lady Gaga said: “Boys! Boys! Boys! We love them, We love them!!” Couldn’t agree more.

Related: Why didn’t he call me back? Because you’re a f*****g psycho that’s why!

12 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Is it also an age thing? Even though I agree 500%, I prob wouldn’t if I was 38?! Mostly because I would hope I was dealing with idiot “boys.” But right now this is 100% appropriate, people (girls and some boys too) should chill out.

  2. oops I meant “was NOT dealing with…”

  3. Yes, I’m writing this as a 23 year old. lol. In the moment child. Hopefully at 38 the only “idiot boy” I’d be worrying about is my son, who wouldn’t be an idiot anyway so never mind…

  4. You shouldnt take boys seriously. A man would command that respect in the relationship though, since he would be giving you that as well. Unfortunately, there isnt a age limit on maturity.

  5. […] Related: Best Advice: Don’t take him seriously…until you do […]

  6. […] Related: Best Advice: Don’t take him seriously, until you do […]

  7. […] Related: Why are you single? Uh cuz I’d rather eat raw cookie dough! DUH! Related: Have you ever thought maybe, just maaaaybe she’s just not that into you? Related: Guys, don’t do this Related: Best Advice: Don’t take him seriously…until you do […]

  8. […] Best Advice:Don’t take him seriously…until you do Related: Guys don’t do this Relates: Why didn’t he call me back? Because you’re […]

  9. […] Guys, don’t do this Related: Best Advice: Don’t take him seriously…until you do Related: What part of ‘not interested’ do you not […]

  10. […] Related: Guys, don’t do this… Related: Have you ever thought…maybe…just maaaaybe…she’s just not that into you? Related: Best Advice: Don’t take him seriously…until you do. […]

  11. […] Related: I could’ve married any one of my boyfriends Related: 5 things that’ll get him…at firstRelated: 5 reasons why my father RUINED my dating life! Related: You have a child sir? This date is over! Related: So “Hooking up” is the new “Dating”? Not for I, said the one named Dash Realted: Single Black Female. Please sit all the way down. Forever. Thanks Related: Best Advice: Don’t take him seriously…until you do. […]

  12. […] entertaining It always boggles my mind why folks allow themselves to become part of drama. Some women constantly complain about how this clown is ALWAYS calling and texting and what have you. My question always is, well […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

