What They Don’t Tell You About Rio Carnival

March 28, 2011 at 11:48 PM | Posted in Globetrotter, Jetsetter | Leave a comment

The city smells like urine
Which would be expected with the ample and free drinking going on but I would be lying if I didn’t cringe and die inside when walking most of the city wondering if the puddle I almost stepped in was rainwater or…

It’s more commercialized and less authentic
Let me be frank, it’s an epic frat party on spring break steroids. Some of the locals say the carnival in Salvador Bahia is better and more “real.” Not my words, but I can see why. Rio carnival was a blast but it was more a battle of the obnoxious and insane and who could be the superlative of both. I’d love to go back to Rio, but not during Carnival but I’d recommend it as a once in a lifetime travel destination. Read More

 

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

