Bikram Challenge Debrief: Day 40

November 5, 2010 at 10:33 AM | Posted in Abs Fab | 3 Comments

Yea I’m part of the cult practice now.  It started out as a Day 30 challenge now it’s spiraling out of control into a 60 Day Challenge and now an actual life integration.

My fitness maniac co-worker invited the staff to participate in a class and I’ve been a believer ever since. She completed 85 consecutive days and I’m trying to get to her level. There have been tremendous benefits that come with my embarking on this life practice. I tried Hatha Yoga. Hated it. I’m partial to high intensity workouts. Tae-bo, boxing, kickboxing, step aerobics, even pilates. I fit right into Bikram. “Bikram yoga is a system of yoga that Bikram Choudhury synthesized from traditional yoga techniques and popularized beginning in the early 1970s. Bikram’s classes run approximately 90 minutes and consist of a set series of 26 postures and 2 breathing exercises. Bikram Yoga is ideally practiced in a room heated to 105°F with a humidity of 40%, making it notoriously known as a form of hot yoga.” The class tests your patience, endurance, and mind. It is metaphysical just as much as it is physical. It challenges you on all levels. The heat is not my biggest obstacle.  The sweat was just as trivial. My biggest obstacle is quieting my mind. My mind used to race at 100 miles an hour 24/7. Key words “used to.” “When the mind is still, the body follows.” This has been a process for me.  “Bikram says emotions are natural, anger, sadness, jealousy, etc. It is not about repressing them because they are natural and God-given but it is about learning and practicing controlling them.” This is a daily practice that I have been growing and progressing in. Among these benefits there have been many more. Muscle toning, definition, deeper flexibility, better rest, less stress, more centered, self-aware at all times, more attuned to my body, better posture and clearer skin. 90 minutes to myself everyday. Priceless.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] few practices that I have incorporated into my life to retain peace, and sanity when navigating life amongst annoying human […]

  2. […] deals straight to your inbox -Buy With Me is great for pretty much ANY deal you can imagine! Even Bikram Yoga […]

  3. […] I didn’t like something years ago and tried it again in recent times and ended up loving it. The ultimate was Bikram yoga. I hated yoga. And doing something I hated in a 105 degree room was not an activity I’d elect […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

