What I learned in Germany

October 28, 2010 at 12:57 PM | Posted in Faces Abroad, Globetrotter | Leave a comment

Oktoberfest in Munich will be revisited next year. Yes, it was that fun. My only experience with Germany was an 8th grade German class, I was put in against my will because I missed the deadline to register for the language of my choice… which was French. But I digress. The class actually turned out to be quite handy, 11 years after the fact. Oktoberfest was a wild experience itself but walking around town had its own adventures.

1. Germans are no nonsense, and I liked it.
Straight-forward and straight to the point. A philosophy I live by and one I admire greatly. It was in abundance in Germany. A mid-western American woman on the train from Vienna to London said “Germans aren’t known for being nice.” I begged to differ. I said don’t mistake directness for mean-spirit. You Americans are so sensitive. Geez!

Read the rest at Examiner.com

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

