Globetrotter: Day 7

September 19, 2010 at 7:09 AM | Posted in Abs Fab, Do something whydoncha | 4 Comments

I took a generous blogging hiatus with my traveling and such. Still here in Europe. After London, Amsterdam and Prague, I am currently in Vienna. What a beautiful city this is. Breath-taking. No joke. I am exploring and also talking to different people. I am discovering so much I never came across on my google searches on these countries and that is the personal voices and faces of the residents. I learned of the abundance of roti shops in Amsterdam from the Dutch locals who hail from Suriname and went salsa dancing amongst the Dominicans in Vienna. There is always a kebab shop wherever I go as well as Flo-rida’s annoying songs. Meeting and talking to people has really opened up a new part of traveling for me. I jet-setted through other cities during my study abroad stint 4 years ago and decided it was time for another.Thus, spawned this current trip. I felt like doing something special for my 24th birthday. I flew into London the day after. Solo. 10 days, 5 cities.

The resounding response to this fact is a “oh my God,” the machosimo— errr ummm boyfriendly response is “I would never let my girlfriend go” and the more crass is “you got some balls girl” (Cape Verdean musician in Amsterdam). Even native euro-travelers were astounded I would do such a thing. I guess it is a bit surprising, most don’t see a girl like me around their parts, said the tall, blonde, curly haired, handsome Dutch guy but I don’t feel any less safe than if I had a traveling partner. If someone wants to kill you, they will, travel buddy or not. But I’ll tell you one thing, I think it’s absolute ludicrous to NOT do something just because you don’t have a companion. You will waste your whole life waiting on others to agree to do what YOU want. Makes no sense. Through my travels, and talking to anyone who says boo to me, I have learned more than I could have imagined. Everyone has a story and I will discuss all of my findings in my ‘Faces Abroad’ travel blog series. Munich for Oktoberfest is tomorrow and I return to the NYC next week.

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I am SO in love w/the fact that you did this solo! Like really, I am. I tend to “fawn” over you (no homo LOL), but it’s only cause you continue to inspire me. I hope you are having the time of your life! And when you come back, I hope you’ll be ready to help me plan my own (wayy overdue) Euro excursion (in an economic fashion of course) 🙂

    • ::pulls robe tighter to self and buttons it up to the chin:: uhhhh ummm thanks…:::backs away slowly::: runs for the hills.
      J/k baby doll. Read the series, you’ll get all your insight there. If you want a personal travel planner, we can discuss rates at a later time. 😉 Oh btw you’re added to my 2011 Oktoberfest travel crew list. Say something. Thought so.

  2. I commend you for traveling abroad solo! And you’re visiting some of the most awesome cities too! Cheers to you! I can’t wait to read the series!

  3. […] went to visit family there and was blown away. Didn’t take more persuasion than that. “Vienna it is!” I exclaimed. Plus it was a cheap bus trip from Prague and a cheap train ride into Munich. […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

