“I can be bad all by myself” Yea…but why would you want to?

April 8, 2010 at 10:43 AM | Posted in Don't be a Dummy, Love, Dating & Relationships, Please don't be "that girl", Please don't be "that guy" | 2 Comments

@MrPeteyWheat: It’s all fun and games until there’s no one around to help you with the stroller down those 2 flights of steps.

“I need Daddy and Daddy needs me, it’s the only way this family can work.” -Madre

I can be bad all by myself. I take issue with that statement. I have a problem with it. We now live in a society where it is a constant battle of the sexes. It is an eternal back and forth between men and women on who needs the other less. I don’t need a man for this; I don’t need a woman for that. Truth is. Yes you do. I need people to understand men and women are different. We were created that way purposely. No one inferior than the other. Ying and yang. Harmony. Balance. We are equally important but NOT the same. (And to this end, double-standards will remain, but that’s another post for another time)

Humankind cannot survive without the womb and a woman’s womb cannot create without the man. By simple biology men and women need each other, so what makes any other aspect of life exempt from this idea?

I am not saying women should rely or depend or even expect a man to come in and “save her” and lawd knows for those who read the blog regularly I reject the “damsel in distress” mentality. Women are strong on their own and should be whole before even attempting to form a union (marriage or otherwise) with another person. Your mate is your complement not completion. The same goes for men.

However, I do reject the idea that a man doesn’t need a woman and women “can be bad by her.” Sure it is possible, but it is that much harder and why elect to take the hard route?

The ramifications of this choice may be detrimental not only to your heart and mind but also your spirit and faith in the opposite sex. I understand there are circumstances which force the individual to step up and be “bad by their selves” (i.e.: single mother/fatherhood) and I commend the bravery and hard work that goes into it, but opting to raise a family solo does not seem like a smart move. It takes a village to raise a child and no man is an island. I really don’t care what anyone says, you can be a self-made man/woman but you had the help of someone on your journey there. Men and women are on this earth together, we were made for each other, to love each other, to work together, to learn from each other, so it’s about time we start acting like it.

I need to quote my philosophical kindred spirit, Kelly Cutrone on this one:
“Truth is we’re not more or less powerful than men, we are partners with men and have an equally important role to play in the progression of the universe. I believe in a rebalancing between the masculine and feminine, both inside and outside ourselves. I’m not asking you to become a man, I’m asking you to become a woman. To awaken and embrace your true feminine powers and stop relying on men to support you or blow your mind.”

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] life-long cheating-free marriage is, my best guess is you do it because you want to and it’s not to be taken lightly (this is a free pass to scoff at all individuals who verbally harrass and guilt trips anyone into a […]

  2. […] should be a bit more selective on who you choose date and mate with. #shotsfired. And that goes for both men and women. Be a bit more selective in the dating game. Then I won’t have to hear the psychobabble about […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

