“I could’ve married any one of my boyfriends”

March 17, 2010 at 3:18 PM | Posted in Don't be a Dummy, Love, Dating & Relationships, Please don't be "that girl", Please don't be "that guy" | 2 Comments

Yup… this was the response that shattered my deluded happily ever after picture of a soul-mate at the tender age of 15 years old.

My mother is da bomb ruthless.

I asked her one day on the way to the bus stop, grinning from ear to ear, “So how’d you know Daddy was “the one”? :head tilt, glossy eyes:

My mother responds by scrunching her face and shrugging. “I could’ve married any one of my boyfriends.”

Me: *Gasp!* :heart stops: You harlot!

Mother: Well, I mean all my boyfriends were great but Daddy had the same goals and vision that I did. Daddy’s great too though.

Me: You harlot!

After I calmed down and removed my hands from her throat for her alleged blaspheme upon my beloved father, I thought about the premise of her reasoning.  There is no “mr./mrs. right,” nor “the one,” and mates for your soul can be met and created, as Sam Keen says “you come to love not by finding the perfect person, but by seeing an imperfect person perfectly.” I am sure there are those who believe their meeting with their significant other must have been kismet, but there are other factors to a relationship besides fate. There is also free-will. And not even God intereferes with that .  Suppose you met “the one” and they were perfect in every way but he/she didn’t want kids, but you did? Are they really “the one”? In my parent’s case, my mother dated winners, which we all should do, but timing, potential and goals were all aligned. Two entities aligned can create the ying and yang we all seek. It takes work, it takes love, it takes balance and there’s no room for delusion in that.

Related: Madre said…The top ten quotes that reveal the facts of life
Related: Madre said…(partie deux)

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] Related: 5 Reasons why my father RUINED my dating life Related: ‘Madre said’: The top ten quotes that reveal the facts of life Related: “Madre said” Partie Deux Related: “I could have married any one of my boyfriends” […]

  2. […] I could’ve married any one of my boyfriends Related: 5 things that’ll get him…at firstRelated: 5 reasons why my father RUINED my […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

