Dude, the whole concept of “race” is made-up :rolls eyes and walks away:

January 8, 2010 at 12:16 PM | Posted in Hear me ROAR! | 12 Comments

So Glenn Beck said this on his radio show:

“African-American is a bogus, PC, made-up term. I mean, that’s not a race. Your ancestry is from Africa and now you live in America. Ok, so you were brought over — either your family was brought over through the slave trade or you were born here and your family emigrated here or whatever but that is not a race.”

I actually agree with that statement. Go figure. But he fails to acknowledge the entire concept of race is social construct. Made up by man. “White” men. It’s not biological. It’s not scientific. Another way to divide and classify our differences. “Race” is different than “ethnicity” which is different than “nationality.” I remember doing intake at a tax site last year and for “statistics purpose” I was required to ask each client their race/ethnicity. I called off all the choices for this one client, and the woman looked at me and answered “I am a human being.”  True story.

12 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Thank you I see I am not the only one. While I do not like the source i absolutely agree about the term African American. For lack of a better word my race is Black my ethnicity is Jamaican-American. No where in there does African American come in. My family was born in Jamaica where they are Black. I dont totally agree on the social construct thing. While I think the terms themselves are based on a person socially determining them. If it was only social then I should be able to sleep with a Black man and give birth to a Jennifer Aniston looking child. And diseases affect Blacks differently for a reason. There is something genetic there that differenitiates us that is deeper than a title.

    • No, there is no genetic difference between a black and white person. It is wholly societal. Other factors play a part in how you look, diseases etc. ie-people from a particular region look very similar and evolve. Look up some studies done. Genetically race is non-existent.

  2. […] Related: Dude, the whole concept of race is made-up :rolls eyes and walks away: […]

  3. […] Related: I’m not African-American, I’m Black Related: Dude, the whole concept of “race” is made-up :rolls eyes and walks away: […]

  4. […] Related: “I had no idea it would resonate the way it did.” Related: Dude, the whole concept of race is made-up […]

  5. […] I’m not African-American, I’m Black Related: My Girl Crush Related: Dude, the whole concept of race is made-up :rolls eyes and walks away: Related: Black Americans DO Have Culture Related: The problem with stereotypes, is not the […]

  6. EVERYONE is african.
    have a good day….

  7. […] I’m not African-American, I’m Black Related: My Girl Crush Related: Dude, the whole concept of race is made-up :rolls eyes and walks away: Related: Black Americans DO Have Culture Related: The problem with stereotypes, is not the […]

  8. product of humans to classify groups of person who have similar genetic traits

  9. you have to admit there are no White people who turn black or will have black traits. people from Sweden are blond with blue eyes unless there ancestry have migrations from closer to the equator. White people will not develop slanted eyes like that of south east Asia. However if a black person starts to turn white it is a sickness most call it the Michael Jackson disease. If anyone gets darker it is a reaction to the sun or cancer. I never answer Male or Female, or race questions.
    We are Americans more importantly we are human beings. we are suppose to be color blind. we are suppose to mix the gene pool or we will all be 1st born cousins of 1st cousins…

    I am considered Italian, Black, German, Spanish and 2 types of Indians. I hate telling people who are Mexican or Puerto Rican. What my ancestry is because they are racist. Most people I meet are racist. if you don’t read this whole thing you might think I was racist.

    I never deny my ancestry but I do announce with pride I am a proud human american.

  10. I feel your shame. I never had any luck whatsoever with this kind of
    stuff, either. So glad to know I am not all by my lonesome!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

